We are mindful of protecting everyone’s safety during the COVID-19 pandemic so we are offering the ability to conduct meetings by telephone or through video conferencing for our current and future clients.
Your Advocate After An Injury

For over 30 years, our firm has helped people who have been injured by the negligence of others.

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Motor Vehicle Accidents
  4.  » Connecticut man charged with manslaughter after car accident

Connecticut man charged with manslaughter after car accident

On Behalf of | Sep 5, 2013 | Motor Vehicle Accidents

Auto accidents involving teens are happening often, even though Connecticut has some of the toughest teen driving rules in the country.

A Connecticut resident had been drinking at a party and left with a car full of friends, driving to a local McDonalds. A 20-year-old man was also at McDonalds with mutual friends. When both cars left, the 20-year-old man sped past the other driver, police said. The Connecticut man tried to get passed him. According to court papers, he told police he thought he was going about 70 mph while he passed the 20-year-old man. He said he tried to slow down around a curve, but lost control and ended up on a front lawn of a house.

An 18-year-old and his 16-year-old brother were both passengers in the Connecticut man’s BMW with two other people when it crashed in the motor vehicle accident.

The man was arrested and was being held in jail on $350,000 bond after being charged with two counts of second degree manslaughter, and two counts of second degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle. He recently appeared before a judge.

Driving laws became stricter in Connecticut in 2008. That was a direct result after two separate car crashes, one that killed four teenagers, and one where three teenagers died in a collision. Now, if a teen has a learner’s permit, the teen is not allowed to have passengers in the car unless with a parent, guardian or driving instructor.

In addition, for the first six months of when 16 and 17 year olds get their licenses, there can only be a parent, guardian, or driving instructor in the car. It’s not just the number of teens in a car that is being legislated for in many states. Until their 18th birthday, Connecticut teens have a curfew barring them from driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.

If your teen has been injured in a car accident, he or she may be eligible to file a lawsuit — even if her or she was the passenger. Damages may be able to be recovered for medical expenses, lost wages and property damage. To determine where negligence lies, a legal professional should organize a detailed investigation into the accident and then recommend the best course of legal action to take.

Source:, “Man faces judge in connection with crash that killed E. Hartford brothers” Steven Yablonski, Kim Lucey, Joseph Wenzel IV, Sep. 04, 2013



FindLaw Network