We are mindful of protecting everyone’s safety during the COVID-19 pandemic so we are offering the ability to conduct meetings by telephone or through video conferencing for our current and future clients.
Your Advocate After An Injury

For over 30 years, our firm has helped people who have been injured by the negligence of others.

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Motor Vehicle Accidents
  4.  » Connecticut teen driving regulations questioned after fatality

Connecticut teen driving regulations questioned after fatality

On Behalf of | Aug 20, 2013 | Motor Vehicle Accidents

Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage and an exciting time for a teenager. Most teens cannot wait to get their driver’s licenses. It is important, though, to remind teenagers that parental rules and the Connecticut driving laws are only meant to keep them safe. Yet auto accidents involving teens are happening often, even though Connecticut has some of the toughest teen driving rules in the country.

A17-year-old Connecticut teen died when the truck she was riding in crashed into a tree early one morning. It was reported that the teen driver of the truck had his license less than six months and was breaking a state curfew rule. Unfortunately, laws can’t prevent all motor vehicle accidents. Many of these car accidents are caused by inexperienced or distracted teen drivers.

Driving laws became stricter in Connecticut in 2008. That was a direct result after two separate car crashes, one that killed four teenagers, and one where three teenagers died in a collision. Now, if a teen has a learner’s permit, the teen is not allowed to have passengers in the car unless they are with a parent, guardian or driving instructor. Parents should still have their own driving rules for their teenager, even after they have received an unrestricted license.

In addition, for the first six months of when 16 and 17 year olds get their license, there can only be a parent, guardian, or driving instructor in the car. It’s not just the number of teens in a car that is being legislated for in many states. Until their 18th birthday, Connecticut teens have a curfew barring them from driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.

If your teen has been injured in a car accident, he or she may be eligible to file a lawsuit — even if they were the passenger. You and your dependent may be able to recover damages for medical expenses, lost wages and property damage. To determine where negligence lies, a legal professional should organize a detailed investigation into the accident and then recommend the best course of legal action to take.

Source:, “Knowledge of teen driving laws questioned” Erin Cox, Aug. 08, 2013



FindLaw Network